Multiple H1 in every eCommerce page -Avenue template

Go to solution Solved by paul2009,

Site URL: https://seonaidrossart.com/available-works/sunset-on-the-oval

Hi:

I am new with SquareSpace

I need to manage a website which was created by a different programmer.

It seems the site is using the AVENUE template.

This is a website for an impressionist painter and each paint is a product in the eCommerce module

I found that every page  has more than one  H1, which is a NO-NO in best SEO practices.

It seems that the first H1 comes from the website name in the main template. However the H1 shouldn't be in he template as it will go to all other pages.

<h1 class="logo"><a href="/">Seonaid Ross Art</a></h1>

How can I modify the template so I can leave the logo but removing the h1 tag?

I appreciate your help

Edited by victorc
typo

It seems the site is using the AVENUE template.

It is a v7.0 site using the Avenue template. You can check which version and template a site is by going to Home > Help and scrolling to the bottom.

How can I modify the template so I can leave the logo but removing the h1 tag?

There are only two methods. One you could use Javascript to restructure the page. That may not be useful as it would depend on if the search engine is scanning the rendered page or the page source.

The second and I strongly urge not to do this unless you are prepared and willing to commit, is to use Developer Mode. Even turning it on or off can destroy a site if you don't know what you are doing.

Find my contributions useful? Please like, upvote, mark my answer as the best ( solution ), and see my profile. Thanks for your support! I am a Squarespace ( and other technological things ) consultant open for new projects.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...

Here is some code to alter the structure of the page. As to whether this code will help or not I do not know. In other words. The code can make the change but if the change is effective, who knows?