Seeking feedback on business website - why is my google page speed score so low, particularly on mobile?

Go to solution Solved by JessicaM,

Alaska Criminal Defense and DUI Defense Lawyers

I just completed a refresh of a website that I'd welcome feedback on. I've limited experience designing websites so please be honest and frank--I can handle criticisms and welcome any suggestions.  

Additionally, my Google Page Speed analysis is pretty poor (see below). Is there any way for me to clean this up and improve page speed? I understand that page speed/performance is part of Google search algorithm so would like to get it as good as I can. 

Thanks in advance!

Chuck

Screenshot 2023-09-05 at 9.49.04 AM.png

Screenshot 2023-09-05 at 9.49.15 AM.png

• Solution

Hey @chuckEsleaze -

Here's a few observations -
- The pages are missing an H1 tag

- Some pages are missing meta descriptions

- Not all images have alt text (this could be effecting the accessibility component of your scan)

- All of the external links need to be set to open up a new tab

- Remove the dates on all of the quotes. They look outdated - especially the ones that go back to 2016. The words still ring true, so I would just take off the dates.

- You could fit the header links on one row if the logo was smaller and the words weren't so long in the navigation links.

- Some of the elements need more padding... like the testimonials at the bottom and the footer.
Home page:

- I would also do something different with the top image on the home page... instead of testimonials, that section should explain who they are and what they do. "Alaska's best defense attorneys" - or something. Also you'll probably need to put a box behind the text so that it can be read over the image. You can adjust the opacity of the box so that you still see the image.

- Add more padding on "We know criminal law" section