Hi everyone

I've had my site on SquareSpace for years but have my domain with 1&1. I just noticed when I logged in today that in my domain settings, it says 'DNS error' and when I click through, it says the Current Data is deprecated. I'm not very technical so don't really know what this means. How do I fix this? 

See screenshots attached from my SquareSpace and 1&1 screens. 

Thanks!

Screenshot 2022-12-02 at 14.16.26.png

Screenshot 2022-12-02 at 14.21.41.png

Hi Lucy

Let me try to explain what has happened.

In summary, when you created your site, you entered some settings. Those settings were superseded (deprecated) in 2015 and have now finally stopped working. The longer explanation follows.

When you host your domain with someone other than Squarespace, you connect your domain to your website by adding "DNS records". These records point your domain to the Squarespace web servers so that when a user types your domain name into their browser, it knows to go to Squarespace.

In 2014, there was just one Squarespace address. It was 198.185.159.135 as pictured in your screenshots. This was the address you used at that time to connect your domain name to your website.

However, this changed in 2015. To improve performance and resilience (make it faster and less likely to fail) Squarespace replaced the single address with four new ones:

You'll also require a CNAME record.

You can therefore:

1. delete the existing A record that points to 198.185.159.135
  2. add four new A records, one for each of the addresses shown above.
  3. add a CNAME record called www that points to ext-cust.squarespace.com.

The support guide Connecting a domain to your Squarespace site explains this in detail and there's also a specific guide for 1&1 IONOS.

I hope this helps.

Paul

Did this help? Please give feedback by clicking an icon below  ⬇️