Email usage after transferring the domain

Hi.  I am new to squarespace.  I currently have a domain with GoDaddy but would like to transfer my domain to squarespace and publish what I have already created here.  I haven't done this before and I am leery about the transfer.  How smooth is the process as far as the email accounts that are linked to the website currently?  Once I switch to squarespace, do the email addresses automatically transfer and there is no "hiccup" in the email work flow?  Or do they need to be set up again because the current emails will no longer work?  I do not want to mess up any of the email accounts.  HELP!

• Replies 2
  • Views 2.9k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Be leery! Transferring email can go very bad very quickly. Up to and including losing your current emails.

Unless you've had some experience with the process I suggest hiring a consultant. There are many subtle issues that are involved when transferring email. Even a seasoned consultant can run into issues.

In general is it of course possible to transfer your domain name and email hosting over to SS. To be clear, just transferring your domain registration does not automatically carry your email hosting over with it, nor any other services you may have attached to your domain name.

So to minimize lost emails or downtime you'll want to have your new email hosting set up as much as possible ahead of time so that when the domain is transferred you update the DNS records.