Creating pages that link to Homepage menu items?

I'm completely new to creating a web site, but I'm not tech-phobic. I started out on Word Press today, spent hours trying to figure it out, finally gave up, and was told by someone on Reddit that SS is easier. SS is easier, but I'm still confused. For some reason,  I'm not understanding the underlying logic of the web pages that are supposed to be linked to my home page.

My goal:  to create a nice looking, fairly basic web site to house two different career portfolios to showcase my work.  I want my home page to have just a four menu items: Home, the title for each of my two portfolios, and Contact Info.  When someone clicks on one of the menu items from my home page, I don't understand where they go. After watching some of the tutorials, I get that I need to create a Page for each menu item (right?) , & I even recognize that somehow I can choose "portfolio" as a type of page. But how does the site know to link it to that specific menu item from my home page?  I don't see anything linking one to the other.

And when I choose a "portfolio" Page, I'm confused about how to post my writing. My goal is for someone using my page to navigate to that portfolio page, where they will see titles of each piece of writing; they can then click on whichever title they want to read the article they choose. But for some reason, I can't seem to do that. It's as if my only choice is to make the entire piece visible on the page, somewhat like a blog post (although even with a blog post, the entire article isn't usually visible unless the user clicks on a "continue reading" button or something like that).

In short, I feel like I'm missing some underlying logic of web site creation that everybody but me gets.  Can someone please help me understand:

- How do menu items from the home page know where to go when someone clicks on them (how do I link them to the pages that I want users to see)?