Squarespace and Square in Canada. The Ecwid route.

This post is written as a constructive rant, not a criticism.

I am a loyal Squarespace web designer and stand by its capabilities. But now and again I'm dumbfounded by things that really should not be roadblocks in delivering industry-standard websites. I live in Canada and Squarespace and Square do not have the same working relationship as they do in the USA. I live in Ontario where a majority of stores and restaurants in my area all use the Square POS system. During Covid one of my clients wanted to move their store online and that was when I first realized the incompatibility between the two providers. Unfortunately only after designing the online store in Squarespace which looked and worked great, realized it could not take a payment via Square. The only workaround was to have a link to a shop website in Square and add a link on the clients' logo in Square that returned to Squarespace. Not the best but it worked, unfortunately, the client had to pay for two websites. Years on I have a coffee shop with a small online store for coffee beans and merch. I believe by now there should be a solution.  After lots of time Googling and watching videos I found the solution using Ecwid. Promising that this is the solution that will link seamlessly your square POS to to Squarespace website and for free. Great! a large sigh of relief and away I go designing an amazing slick website. I link my client's POS to Ecwid and then with code install a shop window into my Squarespace website. It's not all plain sailing, as a designer I  use code in the Ecwid platform to make it look like it is part of Squarespace. Hours of work. All is going well until my client notices that certain product options have not been imported.  Hours of research later I found that to Sync your inventory, you must have a paid service. Now all this is not obvious in Ecwid and the point of this post is so no one wastes any time going down this route. The cos