How to adjust banner video focal point/centre point?

Hi all,

I'm working on template switch to Brine and I have noticed that Banner images or video isn't centred.

On banner image I move dot(focal point) to the bottom but it still cuts out bottom the same is for banner video, it shows black bar of the video at the top and cuts Video at the bottom.

I have tried everything but no luck, I'm not a coder and desperately need CSS to move video up a little bit.

Thanks in advance

Screenshot 2019-11-12 at 08.13.56.jpg

• Replies 4
  • Views 2.7k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Squarespace sites are responsive. The aspect ratio of image and video banners is dependent on the user's screen dimensions and browser width.  

Typically you'll see the banner going from landscape to square and then to portrait as browser widths get smaller. 

You should think about it in the same way TV stations coped with the transition from 4:3 to 16:9 widescreen tvs. Editors used to work around the 'dead' areas where text would be cut off on a 4:3 screen and avoid having key action happening in those dead areas. 

For Squarespace to be as safe as possible the primary content should be in a central square on the video.  You should consider optimising for the most popular screen dimensions used by your visitors. 

Also, the black bars are typically used to fit wider screen video into a 16:9 broadcast video aspect ratio. With the web you're not restricted to 16:9 so you can crop the output in your video editing package to remove the black bars and render it at exactly the aspect ratio you need. 

Thanks for so detailed answer, I understand what you mean but this is not the problem that I have...

I've bean using Marquee template for many years and now I'm switching to Brine family and now the same Banner images and videos are out of centre.