Adding custom code to the head of a single page

Hi all,

I've been working with SS for quite a few years, and have never been able to work out how custom code can be added to the head tag of a single page.

In some instances, we are required to add code snippets specifically to the head of a single page as opposed to across the entire site. One such example is Google Analytics Content Experiments.

After adding the code via the page settings > advanced > page header code injection, I have noticed that the code actually ends up somewhere well into the body.

Is there a way to get custom code inside the head on a single page of a Squarespace site?

Thanks in advance

Jonathan

• Replies 0
  • Views 11.7k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You are correct that page header injection puts the code in the

body

element, not the

head

element. I guess that's why Squarespace calls it "header" and not "head". It may not be your actual "header" but it does get injected as the first element within the

body

Having said that, you can insert code into the

head

tag using settings > advanced > page header code injection and then write the Javascript such that it will only apply to a specific page.

Are you able to provide details regarding the specific code you want to insert and on which page (along with a link to the site/page)?

If a response helped you out, send a 'Like' 👍 (bottom-right) and/or 'Upvote' vote.jpg.c260784ece77aec852b0e3049c77a607.jpg (top-left)

@BrandonW - thanks for a speedy and helpful reply.

I don't think I should paste the code onto a public forum, but I can see how this could be done with javascript to insert into the head just on the homepage - which is what I'm trying to do. In fact, I've recently been doing something similar elsewhere.

Are you thinking something similar to:

var pageSlug = window.location.pathname;
if (pageSlug === "") {
$('head').prepend('myCustomCode');
}