How do I create a hover text over my grid gallery?

Go to solution Solved by alxfyv,

• Solution

You might try copying and pasting this in Design > Custom CSS:

/*
** in gallery grid, set a hover over slide effect to 
** display slide title on partially transparent
** overlay
*/
.sqs-gallery.sqs-gallery-design-grid .slide 
.margin-wrapper .image-slide-title {
 position: absolute;
 bottom: 0;  
 width: 100%;
 height: 0;
 color: white;
 background-color: rgba(194, 194, 163, .8);
 opacity: 0;
 transition: all .25s ease-in;
}
.margin-wrapper:hover .image-slide-title {
 height: 40%;
 opacity: .9;
}  

This should give you the effect, on hover over a slide, of a partially transparent overlay sliding up over the image and displaying the slide title.

Let me know whether this works and, if so, whether it's the type of effect you have in mind.

-Steve

I'm a retired attorney who was asked by a friend to build a website. In a prior lifetime, in a galaxy far, far away and long, long ago, I was a computer systems analyst / programmer. I'm a novice autodidact in CSS, JavaScript and HTML learning in part by example.. I've asked questions on this forum and been lucky enough to have others help me, so I'm inclined to answer any question I can. Pay it forward.

Hi,

Not sure if you're using gallery blocks or gallery pages?

I've developed a commercial plugin that adds grid gallery block titles in front of the image with smooth hover effects. You can add a background color as well.

So if a result like the image below is what you're after, check out the plugin here.

alt text

– Petri / Vox Pop

Edited by voxpopagency
Initial Revision

Freelance Squarespace developer making plugins like Full-Width Blocks, Hover effects for grid gallery and the Darkmode plugin. I know Squarespace inside out and I'm able to solve pretty much any Squarespace code problem.

Get in touch here!