Can I change the position of buttons on a cover page?

I have a cover page on my site that serves as the home page (seen here) and it contains two buttons: one to enter the site itself and a new one I just made so people can subscribe to my newsletter. Currently the two buttons are side by side. Is there a way to change the CSS/html for this cover page and move the Subscribe button down so it's centered just above the social media icons at the bottom? The Enter Site button used to be the main focus of the page and I'd like to keep it that way.

The Custom CSS page in the Design section says you can't edit cover pages from there. Is this even possible to do?

I'm using the Five theme, by the way.

EDIT: In the event that I can't change the position of the Subscribe button (which is actually a form), can I at least switch the buttons around to where Enter Site is on the left?

I'm an indie science fiction author using Squarespace as my website platform.

• Replies 16
  • Views 16.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You might try this in Settings > Advanced > Page Header Code Injection for the Cover Page:

<style>
/*
** reposition the newsletter form 
** subscribe link on the landing page
** down and right
*/
[data-slice-id="575b233d4d088eebd1fbb631"] {
 position: absolute;
 top: 200px;
 left: 335px;
)
</style>  

Let me know how it works.

-Steve

I'm a retired attorney who was asked by a friend to build a website. In a prior lifetime, in a galaxy far, far away and long, long ago, I was a computer systems analyst / programmer. I'm a novice autodidact in CSS, JavaScript and HTML learning in part by example.. I've asked questions on this forum and been lucky enough to have others help me, so I'm inclined to answer any question I can. Pay it forward.