Can I have a different background image for mobile version of site?

Go to solution Solved by alxfyv,

I am trying to have a different background image for the mobile version of my site. I am using the encore template. I see the following code posted for the same question:

@media only screen and (max-width: 640px) { .site-wapper { background-image: url(http://urlToImage/image.png); background-repeat: repeat repeat; }}

I tried adding this to the custom css but it had no effect. I really only need the home page image to change if there is an easier fix.

Edited by pvo
  • Replies 16
  • Views 14.5k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

For most community members to help, you need to give the url to your site.

I'm a retired attorney who was asked by a friend to build a website. In a prior lifetime, in a galaxy far, far away and long, long ago, I was a computer systems analyst / programmer. I'm a novice autodidact in CSS, JavaScript and HTML learning in part by example.. I've asked questions on this forum and been lucky enough to have others help me, so I'm inclined to answer any question I can. Pay it forward.

• Solution

Hi Jeff,

The background image and related CSS properties the home page currently has (at desktop sizes) are:

.collection-type-template-page #outerWrapper  {  background-image: url("http://static1.squarespace.com/static/560d7230e4b0a4c7e9582606/t/560e9ee2e4b01316733a433f/1443798754915/sitebghome.jpg");  background-position: center center;  background-size: cover;  background-attachment: fixed;  background-repeat: no-repeat;}

For an explanation of what the various background properties mean and do, see the w3schools' article CSS Background and the MDN article background.