Where do I add JavaScript?

Where do I insert JavaScript while on Squarespace, or do I have to do this via another method?

I know where to insert HTML (Code Block) and CSS (Code Insertion et al). I am at a loss for where to insert JavaScript.

Please help a neo-coding individual. Thank you.

www.migrainechecked.com and www.sugarchecked.com as well.

• Replies 27
  • Views 28.5k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If you use a Code Block, be aware. In the Edit Code dialog, in the upper right, is a drop-down list with five choices, the first three of which are CSS, HTML and JavaScript. Somewhat confusingly, the CSS and JavaScript options are used solely to display the code to your visitor. No executable code can go in them.

All executable code goes in the HTML option. Enter CSS code wrapped in <style></style> tags. Enter JavaScript code wrapped in <script></script> tags. Enter HTML code directly.

I'm a retired attorney who was asked by a friend to build a website. In a prior lifetime, in a galaxy far, far away and long, long ago, I was a computer systems analyst / programmer. I'm a novice autodidact in CSS, JavaScript and HTML learning in part by example.. I've asked questions on this forum and been lucky enough to have others help me, so I'm inclined to answer any question I can. Pay it forward.

If you use a Code Block, be aware. In the Edit Code dialog, in the upper right, is a drop-down list with five choices, the first three of which are CSS, HTML and JavaScript. Somewhat confusingly, the CSS and JavaScript options are used solely to display the code to your visitor. No executable code can go in them.

All executable code goes in the HTML option. Enter CSS code wrapped in <style></style> tags. Enter JavaScript code wrapped in <script></script> tags. Enter HTML code directly.