Old Wordpress site, with a link to new SquareSpace website

Hi, I have a weird question if someone could enlighten me! 

My friend has this old old old Wordpress website brazenmonkey.co.uk

It's been live for such a long time that it's in the top 10 google rankings. 

I created a new Squarespace site for him and was about to transfer it across, but I was told that as it's a new site, Google would need to index it again, and it would likely drop out of the Google top 10 (maybe temporarily, maybe permanently!). 

He said that the current position is too valuable to the business, so I cannot point the old Wordpress one to the new SP one. As a compromise I said I would create a new domain for the updated site brazenmonkey.uk and have a link to it from the old one, something like "Please visit our new site".

Now I know this is really bad practice, but I cannot think of an alternative (I am not a developer).

My question is, will doing this, affect the old site's SEO at all, and will it start to drop as a result. The idea is that in time, if the new one does well in Google, we can put the old one to pasture. 

Any advice would be much appreciated! 

Jimmy

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

This is a tricky problem to navigate, and I can only really give my opinion and some general advice, I can't tell you that it won't have a negative impact.

I will say that your idea of having a button redirect from the old website to the new will most likely have a negative impact over time.

The ranking on Google is tied to the domain not the fact that it's built on Wordpress (though wordpress websites do have more tools to optimize SEO, it doesn't mean that they are inherently better.)