Why is it so hard to create a simple image carousel?

Go to solution Solved by paul2009,

As per the title, I'm curious as to why simple image carousels are so difficult to make in 7.1. There are many times where I want to add one alongside some text blocks to make my page more dynamic, but there is no way to just simply upload a series of images and create one. Instead, it seems one has to create a Summary block which only allows carousels that point to other sections of your website, then create a separate non-linked blog page hosting those images, which THEN requires some code to not have the carousel be clickable so as not to navigate guests towards those non-linked blog pages? 

WHY can I not just create a simple carousel of images? 

The above method I described was derived from this YouTube video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8oCMV3FsIuk&ab_channel=RebeccaGraceDesigns-SquarespaceCodingExpert

As a beginner I would have had no idea how to get that carousel to work that way if not for this tutorial. But more frustratingly, I can't fathom why the Summary carousel option can't just allow for a regular series of images to be uploaded directly to it?   

Edited by nparkdesigns
Forgot a word

I'm not sure I understood the obstacle exactly. But if you want an image gallery in the "Carousel" format next to the text blocks and upload pictures directly there, you can do it by adding a gallery block next to the text block and selecting the desired format under the Design.

Screenshot 2023-02-02 at 11.35.50.png

Edited by kalevi

If you want a slideshow in a section you choose section gallery and the option reel. You don't need to have those images click thru, that is an option. A gallery block in a blog on on a page or in a section can auto change the images. The video covers a lot of different options but the gallery block with the carousel is simple to add just about anywhere in your site.