How to make a Wells 7.0 template in 7.1

Hi all,

7.1 website: https://sawfish-dragonfly-bfsj.squarespace.com/
password: PM

7.0 website: https://www.palomamcclain.com

I'm on a personal plan and use my website as an art portfolio.

I'm aiming to switch to a 7.1 layout because of the portfolio feature and the other lovely new features. Wells doesn't allow for project/index pages and I want to be able to use both a gallery and portfolio.

I love the Wells layout because the navigation is fixed on the left and users can scroll through my art on the right. This allows for easy access to the nav without having to repetitively scroll back up to the top to click a different category. It was disappointing to learn that the header and nav in 7.1 stays horizontal.

It was also frustrating to learn that 7.1 doesn't support summary blocks for galleries which means I can no longer separate my art by category. I wish to use the Universal Filter plug-in but I am a complete novice at CSS and don't understand the instructions or what I'm looking at. I contacted the developer on this matter but I welcome other help on this problem too.

Is it possible to create the navigation/header in 7.1 as a sidebar like Wells, where my gallery section displays on the right?

Thanks for your help!

Edited by palomamcclain
  • palomamcclain changed the title to Need help making 7.1 layout look like Wells
20 hours ago, palomamcclain said:

Need help making 7.1 layout look like Wells. I love the Wells layout because the navigation is fixed on the left and users can scroll through my art on the right.

Hi Paloma.

As you've mentioned, version 7.1 doesn't have a vertical navigation like the Wells template. It would be possible to create one with some JavaScript but the Personal Plan doesn't support this so you'd be limited to what you can achieve with CSS, which doesn't offer the same flexibility.