Changing the color of individual social media icons AND Why does the behavior of the social media block not work like other sites?

Go to solution Solved by paul2009,

Hi,

I am new to Squarespace and am trying to design a website integrating the social link blocks. My website is (colthawley.com). I am trying to mimic in particular the website of one of my favorite bands, Vacation Manor (www.vacationmanor.com). You can find the social media icons clearly at the bottom of their webpage.

So I started simple: I want to change the individual color of the social media icons like with what they have. I have tried scouring forums and Google for code to do this but with no luck, and I am not new to understanding a bit of code or searching forums. The only code I can find is changing the color of ALL the icons. That seems to be very popular and easy with CSS Code, but that is not what I want. 

Also, something I noticed is that there is a behavioral difference in how the icons interact with a cursor between my site and others. There's also the website of another artist I love, Eric Johnson (www.ericjohnson.com). Both VM and EJ use Squarespace (as I use F12 to analyze the webpages and see I see "squarespace.com" names), and their icons behave the same. There seems to be a "box" that outlines the block that when the cursor hovers over it, they all become a bit transparent. Then when you hover over one, it becomes brighter. I know that hover colors are something you write CSS Code for, but my website doesn't behave like theirs in the former way.