Facebook & Instagram Shop Descriptions

• 4 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...

Same issue. I opened a ticket about this with Squarespace and it sounds like the feature request has been raised to the development team, but no ETA on when (if ever) it might get fixed (assuming it actually is an issue on Squarespace's side that can be fixed, and not a bug or missing functionality on FB's side).

I did some digging and best that I can tell (thought I'm not a developer) is that Facebook's spec for the data feed fields contains two separate fields, one that supports rich text (rich_text_description) and one that's plain text without formatting (description). According to the spec for the rich text field: "If this field is provided, it will display instead of the description field wherever possible, but you must still provide description as a backup option." I assume if rich text ends up in the plain text field all the formatting is stripped (which looks like what's happening).

My guess is that the issue is something along the lines of: the product description from Squarespace is being pushed only to the plain text field (maybe that is the default option if nothing is specified) so should instead be pushed to both fields, or maybe the Facebook service/API that Squarespace is using doesn't support pushing programmatically to the rich text field so that's why it's not happening (this would be a limitation then on FB's side and not much Squarespace can do about it unless it's added). Assuming the latter isn't the case, my guess is a code update on Squarespace's side would in fact be needed to fix this. But I very well could be missing something.

I did contact FB support about this too but received basically no help from them; to Squarespace's credit their support team has been cordial, helpful, and at least acknowledged it looks like there is an issue. So I suppose there is hope!

Sources:

https://www.facebook.com/business/help/120325381656392