simplified URL redirect to existing page

Hi! I'm pretty new to Squarespace and website building in general, so please be kind 😉

I am working on updates to an existing website for the school I work at.   For marketing purposes, I'd like to create a simplified URL people can type in and have it redirected to the actual tour page, to allow people to type something simple that they will remember, as opposed to what the actual URL slug is.  

For example, the existing page I want people to access is:  www.cascadia.school/schedule-tour-inquiry-form  but in marketing materials, for simplicity sake, I'd like to just post the address as www.cascadia.school/tour, so I'm trying to create a temporary redirect as opposed to changing the /url slug completely (for SEO reasons, etc.). 

Following the online tutorial, I went to the page for our tours, found URL Mappings and typed in the following:

/tour -> /schedule-tour-inquiry-form 302

This doesn't seem to be working, as when I go to a new browser window and type in www.cascadia.school/tour, it takes me to the 404 error page.   

There is no actual page on my site called www.cascadia.school/tour, so could that be the problem?  Though from what I read, that shouldn't be the case.  

Any idea what I'm missing? 

Edited by CKnapp
  • 4 months later...
On 3/7/2023 at 4:34 AM, melaniejaane said:

Hey @tuanphan is there a way to edit this script so it doesn't redirect when we're in config mode? Thanks 🙂 

Suppose your site url is

melanie.squarespace.com

You can add this to url to disable code in edit mode

melanie.squarespace.com/config/safe

Email me if you have need any help (free, of course.). Answer within 24 hours. 
Or send to forum message

Contact Customer Care - Learn CSS - Buy me a coffee (thank you!)

17 hours ago, tuanphan said:

Suppose your site url is

melanie.squarespace.com

You can add this to url to disable code in edit mode

melanie.squarespace.com/config/safe