Java Script and Form Blocks

Site URL: https://www.philipmarksart.com

I am an artist interested in selling my paintings (originals and prints) online. Shipping for each piece is heavily dependent on the customer address and so must be calculated manually for each order. Thus i cannot use a standard store. When I have reviewed an online order, I will manually use paypal to send the customer the invoice, so my website does not have to handle any money. I would like to create a form from which a customer can request an invoice for purchase of chosen works. When a client submits the form they must immediately receive an automatic email confirmation containing all the information about the order, and I must be notified of the request. Through experimentation and research I believe I have found an integration of the products Squarespace, Zapier, and Airtable can be used to implement this functionality. If i use a contact form provided by these products I have found that I can get this concept to work. However, for various reasons, I also want the form fields showing on my squarespace website to be manipulated by squarespace javascript, and to use the javescript to process and populate the fields during customer interaction, prior to submitting the form. If I try to use any of the product's provided contact forms or a squarespace form block I do not have programmatic access to the form fields, and so I have opted to build a form from scratch inside a squarespace code block. I have coded a form (see snapshot attached) and got the javascript to work with it. The form doesn't seem to be recognized by squarespace as a contact form. At the very least I need to determine the value of the "action" attribute of the form, and there may be other things which I do not know. I hypothesize that if squarespace recognizes the form as a contact form then zapier will be able to access it and transfer the information in the fields to Airtable which I have shown will send the confirmation e