My First Squarespace Design for Friend's Restaurant

Site URL: https://www.knottedapron.com/

Hi there! I'm an account manager for a creative agency as my day job but I'm fairly tech savvy and familiar, though by no means an expert, with basic web design elements and design best practices. Any and all feedback is appreciated!

This is my first squarespace website! My friends own a restaurant in the very "foodie" city of Portland, ME. Their previous branding and web design was outsourced on fiverr and felt very low-end. They wanted a website that was clean, easy to navigate and refined. Their biggest priorities were having reservations easily accessible, gift cards available, and an easy template to update their menu .pdf which is constantly changing.

The restaurant is more of a "neigborhood bistro" but the food is very refined and they make everything from scratch. They see themselves as a more casual restaurant that gives diners access to the same seasonal, local, high-end food as the rest of the city but in a more relaxed and intimate environment.

This website served as design inspiration - https://bestiala.com/. In our current theme I can only feature one standalone "button" on the far right for gift cards but I'd love to include reservations over there as well, separate from the rest of the header menu. (This button currently not live while we figure out gift cards).

SIDE NOTE - This website https://www.twelvemaine.com/ for another restaurant in town has some design elements that I really like. If anyone knows how to achieve that kind of dynamic background imagery that "moves" when you scroll I'd love to incorporate that!

Edited by Aglapa
  • 4 weeks later...

I love it! The images are amazing!

I have done quite a few restaurant websites and have utilized their images by doing a scrolling banner of images (either the list section or Will Meyers scrolling banner code) or a video if they have that content set as the first section to add in some movement!