two quick questions, before I commit to learning a new website builder

I'm done with my previous provider of services and their use of cloudflare and all the calisthenics to make a secure site, I'd like to confirm . . .

1) are pages created in squarespace automatically secure and display "https?"

2) I believe, having leafed through the tools, can I "drag and drop" elements, create forms, and modify components at will?

( I have ZERO java or html experience and need idiot proof)

3) how reliable is squarespace e-mail hosting?  Should I use gmail in some fashion?

4) the web designers for hire, how expensive is that?  My site isn't many pages, and it is really very cobby, looking like an engineer made it.  I'd like to change to squarespace after reviewing the hosting / e-mail / domain maintenance charges.  We don't get too much e-mail, about 50 per day.

https://www.weathering-direct.com

Thanks for any input and making me comfortable with such a commitment.

stevieJ

1) As with any complex system the answer depends on how you set up your site. If you use SS's built-in domain or host your domain with SS then yes you get secure connections. If your domain is hosted outside of SS and you do not currently have an SSL certificate for the domain then hosting on SS does not automatically give you a secure site.

2) SS does have some drag and drop elements. But if they would meet your criteria of drag and drop, only you can determine by using SS.

3) SS does not provide email hosting directly. They have a partnership with Google Workspace. I have found GW very reliable if not a bit confusing working with the interface. I'd say that GW is really designed for tech heads.

4) Per hour prices can vary widely. Also some charges will be based per project. The only thing I can say is get multiple quotes if you can. The old saying you get what you pay for applies.