Display Product Dimensions On Page

Site URL: https://www.halebyhenderson.com/gallery/p/kapulua-entry-table

Hello

I'm trying to find a way to display the product dimensions on product pages. Ideally below the choice of Material. 

As you'll see they are a decor company and this information is key to potential clients in setting up their spaces. 

I assume it could be accomplished by pulling information from the JSON data, however I'm pretty new to JSON and wouldn't know exactly how to pull it to print, plus does the Squarespace 'Code Block' support JSON and what I'm looking to accomplish?

Thank you for your time.

The first hurdle is getting the info. Are you thinking you want to use the shipping dimensions? Keep in mind that the shipping dimensions ideally represent the dimensions ( and weight ) of the shipping container. Which in some cases could be some number of inches larger than the actual product. If that is not a problem then the dimensions are available without diving into the JSON. There are two sources. In memory at Static.SQUARESPACE_CONTEXT.product. Or on the DOM on various data attributes of the element with class product-variants.

Manipulating these elements is a bit tricky. You will need to use JavaScript to get the information needed and put it into the DOM somewhere.

For each of your products are the dimensions that same no matter what variant is selected? In other words changing a variant on a product does not change its size, just its finish? If this is the case then the code becomes a bit easier as you don't have to deal with variants changing the size and making the code more complex.

If the product size and the shipping container size are not nearly the same then I'd recommend not using code to grab the shipping information. I suggest something like including it in the description. Or, adding it to the additional info as perhaps a text block and then use JavaScript to move elsewhere on the page, if desired.