Confused about hosting fees

Site URL: https://www.rebeccaroundhill.co.uk

Hello! I am new to Squarespace.  A web designer set up a Squarespace site for me (which I love) and I paid Squarespace for a personal plan.

My old Wordpress site was hosted with ipage and ipage tell me I ALSO have to pay them for hosting - my domain name couldn't be transferred to Squarespace as it doesn't meet requirements. The A record of the domain is pointing to my Squarespace site.

I will need to pay ipage again in May for another 3 years of hosting and other add ons that I have. Will I still need to pay the back up and sitelock fees? Does the Squarespace fee cover these too? I am just a bit confused, I don't fully understand why two fees but just want to ensure I am not paying twice for stuff.

Also would it be a good idea to delete my old Wordpress site? I won’t be going back to it.  Thanks in advance for any advice.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

I have just had a chat with ipage and they are now saying that There is no need to have hosting plan because I have not created an email I can downgrade to free account to manage the domains. They are now calling it a domain parking account. 

So confused!

4 hours ago, Becr said:

A web designer set up a Squarespace site for me. My old Wordpress site was hosted with ipage and ipage tell me I ALSO have to pay them for hosting - my domain name couldn't be transferred to Squarespace as it doesn't meet requirements.

Can you explain what you mean when you say it "doesn't meet requirements"? 

From what I understand, your WP site and your domain name were previously hosted with iPage. If you now have a new site that is entirely hosted on Squarespace you should be able to transfer your domain away from iPage and then stop paying fees to them. You should be able to transfer the domain relatively easily if you:

• Have full access to your iPage account