How do I find and edit my robots.txt file?

Go to solution Solved by paul2009,

Site URL: https://www.stevemaskery.com/

Hi, I'm new to SS and not a lot of previous experience with HTML.

I have two domains, workshopessentials.com and stevemaskery.com, both of  which are forwarded to:

https://amphibian-celery-b7en.squarespace.com

I'm getting a nag from Google saying that I need to add a couple of lines to my robots.txt file so that it can index my images properly. How do I find and access this file please?

Many thanks
Steve

• Solution
On 3/16/2022 at 10:47 AM, SteveMaskery said:

How do I find and access [my robots.txt] file please?

All Squarespace sites use the same robots.txt file and as a Squarespace user you cannot access or edit it. Squarespace have already specified the pages that should not be crawled by search engines because they’re for internal use only or display duplicate content. For example, /config/ is your Admin login page, and /api/ blocks the Analytics tracking cookie.

Here are some pages that Squarespace ask search engines not to crawl. These pages organize content that exists elsewhere on your site.

/search

/*?author=*

/*&author=*

/*?tag=*

/*&tag=*

/*?month=*

/*&month=*

/*?view=*

/*&view=*

/*?format=*

/*&format=*

/*?reversePaginate=*

/*&reversePaginate=*

For a complete list of the excluded pages, view the robots.txt file on any Squarespace website.

Edited by paul2009
Added additional information

About me: I've been a SQSP User for 18 yrs. I was invited to join the Circle when it launched in 2016. I have been a Circle Leader since 2017. I don't work for Squarespace. I value honesty, transparency, diversity and good design ♥.
Work: I founded and run SF.DIGITAL, building Squarespace Extensions to supercharge your commerce website. 
Content: Views and opinions are my own. Links in my posts may refer to SF.DIGITAL products or may be affiliate links.