Jump to content

Membership Access After a Customer Cancels

Recommended Posts

It is great that we can now add an additional fee option for the subscriptions, the only issue is that if for instance I add a 6 month option, and the member cancels, they lose access to the remainder of their membership?

Also, it would be nice if members could upgrade their memberships, from say a 1 month to a 6 month, without having to cancel first. 

Link to comment
  • 4 months later...
  • Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I second this motion -
This has been a big problem for us. If someone pays for a subscription...and wants to cancel ...the default should be to end the subscription at the next billing period. If I paid for something for a month and canceled 1 week in - I shouldn't lose what I paid for. This puts the burden on us to figure what a pro rate should be for the time they paid vs the time they used.
Dealing with unhappy people who immediately lost their account is a real problem for us. I hope they fix this ASAP. A toggle in the UI to allow the account to be terminated immediately or at next billing period...seems that might be a good fit and not terribly difficult to implement.  

Link to comment
  • 2 months later...

Site URL: https://www.sprucegoose.gg/

Hello, I hope I am simply missing something, but I had a customer sign up for a monthly membership and then after a week decided they wanted to cancel their membership. Once they cancelled their membership, they immediately lost access to the members area. I'd like to set it up so that cancelling their membership simply turned off the auto-renew payments, but they would keep access to the site for the full month that they paid for. Is there any functionality in SquareSpace to do this? 

Link to comment
1 hour ago, SpruceGooseTV said:

Once they cancelled their membership, they immediately lost access to the members area. I'd like to set it up so that...they would keep access to the site for the full month that they paid for. Is there any functionality in SquareSpace to do this? 

That's the way Member Areas has been designed. The customer can retain their access by not cancelling until just before their next payment is due. It isn't possible to change this functionality.

To raise a feature request contact Squarespace Customer Care.

Improve your online store with our extensions.
About: Squarespace Circle Leader since 2017. I value honesty, transparency, appreciation and great design ♥.
Work: Squarespace Developer and founder of SF Digital, building the features Squarespace didn't include™.
Content: Links in my posts may refer to SF Digital products or may be affiliate links.

Buy me a coffee

Link to comment
7 minutes ago, paul2009 said:

That's the way Member Areas has been designed. The customer can retain their access by not cancelling until just before their next payment is due. It isn't possible to change this functionality.

To raise a feature request contact Squarespace Customer Care.

Hi Paul, I appreciate the response. I have submitted a request with Customer Care. What's the realistic likelihood of this feature being added? I honestly am shocked it was designed that way, I'm not aware of any reputable site that functions like that...

Link to comment

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

×
×
  • Create New...

Squarespace Webinars

Free online sessions where you’ll learn the basics and refine your Squarespace skills.

Hire a Designer

Stand out online with the help of an experienced designer or developer.