First, gotta say as a pro UX designer I'd heavily advise against this design. It's a usability nightmare ❤️ 

But if you're sure you can use this Custom CSS

//section[data-section-id="61d0cc9a2781d3429ac31abd"]{

a:before{
  display: block;
  z-index: 9;
  display: none;
  position: absolute;
  top: 50%;
  left: 50%;
  transform: translate(-120%, -55%);
  content: '';
  background-position: center center;
  background-repeat: no-repeat;
  background-size: contain;
  width: 300px;
  height: 300px;
  -webkit-transition: all 0.2s linear;
  -moz-transition: all 0.2s linear;
  -o-transition: all 0.2s linear;
  -ms-transition: all 0.2s linear;
  transition: all 0.2s linear;
  background-size: contain!important;
  box-sizing: border-box;

}

a:hover{
  &:before{
    display:block;
  }
}

//set the background image based on link destination here
 a[href*="/whatever"]::before{
background: url(https://hoodzpahdesign.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/Bright.gif) center center no-repeat!important;
}

a[href*="/somethingelse"]::before{
background: url(https://hoodzpahdesign.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/Bright.gif) center center no-repeat!important;
}

//}

Demo at https://caribou-wolf-8lbn.squarespace.com/ 
with password: "a"

1559261512_GoogleChromeat00_34.gif.4f1ae86d4d2383dcc7714f725b8ab9b7.gif

Then:

- uncomment the first line (section ID)  and add the section ID you're using. Or block id. Remove the double slashes. Otherwise you'll add this to all links on your site.
- set the background url for each link depending on the link destination (href)

p.s. If you ever wanna to hire a Squarespace developer, feel free to hit me up 

Edited by codeandtonic
gif

Freelance Squarespace developer making plugins like Full-Width Blocks, Hover effects for grid gallery and the Darkmode plugin. I know Squarespace inside out and I'm able to solve pretty much any Squarespace code problem.

Get in touch here!