Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Advanced Search

VAT calculation at checkout


Recommended Posts

Hi, I live in the Netherlands, and for now, our domestic VAT rate is 21%, which applies as well to EU countries (as long as income is below €10K/year). So I have to set it up for each country accordingly, however, when I do so, and then test the checkout, the amount showing in the VAT section is not 21% of the selling price. I tried with 3 countries, Netherlands 30 VAT €5.21, France the same, but Spain 30 VAT €6.30. Any idea why? Thank you

Link to comment
  • Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

As a start, can you share a link to the site with us? If the site isn't live, you'll also need to set a password in the visibility settings and share it with us.

 

sf-digital-signature-logo-email145.png.46606a2288a2847f44d81b9b7b58f3a5.png
Hi! I'm Paul, an independent Squarespace Consultant since 2007 and founder of SF Digital, building the features that Squarespace didn't include. Our mini-extensions allow you to pick dates in any format, show prices in other currencies, take orders without payment or improve your cartI value honesty, integrity, transparency and respect . Links in my posts may refer to SF Digital products or may be affiliate links.

Link to comment
  • 5 weeks later...

Dear @paul2009,

Since I don't know how to start a new topic, I am writing my related question here.

 

I am selling a book from The Netherlands, and 21% of the tax should be applied. The book already includes this VAT, but it does not display at the check out or in the confirmation email.

 

I followed the steps "Step 2 - Enable tax-inclusive pricing" in the below link, but still VAT does not show up like it is in the example screenshot.

https://support.squarespace.com/hc/en-us/articles/215074868#toc-step-1---set-up-tax-rates

Could you please let me know what I might be doing wrong?

Many thanks in advance.

Link to comment
9 minutes ago, Pomer said:

I am selling a book from The Netherlands, and 21% of the tax should be applied. The book already includes this VAT, but it does not display at the check out or in the confirmation email.

If you have also set up 'Netherlands 21%' in Taxable locations within Commerce > Taxes then the tax should appear correctly. If it's not working as expected you can contact Squarespace Customer Care for help with this.

However, if you'd prefer to discuss it here, please provide a link to the site. If the site isn't live, please also set a password in the visibility settings and share this too.

sf-digital-signature-logo-email145.png.46606a2288a2847f44d81b9b7b58f3a5.png
Hi! I'm Paul, an independent Squarespace Consultant since 2007 and founder of SF Digital, building the features that Squarespace didn't include. Our mini-extensions allow you to pick dates in any format, show prices in other currencies, take orders without payment or improve your cartI value honesty, integrity, transparency and respect . Links in my posts may refer to SF Digital products or may be affiliate links.

Link to comment

Dear @paul2009,

 

Many thanks for your reply! ( did not get any notification on you reply... is there any way to have that?)

I did set up 21% VAT as in the screenshot below, tried both options of including in the price or added at the checkout, but either way it just shows hyphen at the checkout.

 

notax2.png

notax.png

Edited by Pomer
Link to comment

In your screenshot, you haven’t added an address yet so it’s normal for tax not to be shown at this stage. What happens after you add your delivery address? As you haven’t provided a URL, I’m unable to test. 

9 hours ago, Pomer said:

did not get any notification on you reply... is there any way to have that?

You should find an option in your account settings for this.

sf-digital-signature-logo-email145.png.46606a2288a2847f44d81b9b7b58f3a5.png
Hi! I'm Paul, an independent Squarespace Consultant since 2007 and founder of SF Digital, building the features that Squarespace didn't include. Our mini-extensions allow you to pick dates in any format, show prices in other currencies, take orders without payment or improve your cartI value honesty, integrity, transparency and respect . Links in my posts may refer to SF Digital products or may be affiliate links.

Link to comment
1 hour ago, Pomer said:

I sent you the URL by message.

As I couldn't access the site, I recommend you get in touch with Squarespace Customer Care. You can reach out to them here.

sf-digital-signature-logo-email145.png.46606a2288a2847f44d81b9b7b58f3a5.png
Hi! I'm Paul, an independent Squarespace Consultant since 2007 and founder of SF Digital, building the features that Squarespace didn't include. Our mini-extensions allow you to pick dates in any format, show prices in other currencies, take orders without payment or improve your cartI value honesty, integrity, transparency and respect . Links in my posts may refer to SF Digital products or may be affiliate links.

Link to comment

Dear @paul2009,  I could reach the customer service, and the password problem is solved.

I could also ask about this VAT display issue and that is also solved.

Many thanks for trying to tackle the issue. I hope I can continue working from here.

 

Link to comment

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment


×
×
  • Create New...