Frame-by-frame moving image on scroll

Hello!

I'm relatively new to Squarespace and/also a designer and/also an engineer. I'm putting together my portfolio website at the moment. I was considering the possibility of adding a frame-by-frame style moving image that would 'play' during scroll. You know the type of animation — I believe Apple made it popular on their site with the now canonical airpods animation.

See for example: https://levelup.gitconnected.com/how-to-create-frame-by-frame-moving-image-on-scroll-effect-30ce577c63c2

My question is this to the experts out there: is this possible using the code injection features of Squarespace?

If so, how might I go about commissioning someone to add this capability to my Squarespace site such that I could then use it in various places?

I'm asking this way rather than my normal inclination which would be to spend lots of time exploring and trying as I'm trying my level best to prioritize how I use my time. It may be that it makes more sense to have an expert do it than me learning how, as much as that would be my normal way about things.

Julian

Hello Julian,

When you say you want to use the effect in various places, how and where do you want to use the effect? Would it be like in the cited example? Essentially a section in a page that has the animation?

Or are you thinking as a background for a whole page?

Both are probably possible but the latter is more common I think.

I've done a number of scroll effects.

I'm thinking a similar effect could be achieved on an SS site.

Find my contributions useful? Please like, upvote, mark my answer as the best ( solution ), and see my profile. Thanks for your support! I am a Squarespace ( and other technological things ) consultant open for new projects.

Hi @creedon 

My initial thinking is not an entire background, but an isolated element such as an 'Image' block. I'm not sure what the right idiom is.