Best practice for applying CSS to hundreds of block IDs across several pages?

Site URL: https://watermelon-koala-napg.squarespace.com/bio-archidex

Hello! I'm a decent programmer, although brand new to web dev and Squarespace.

I'm working on a website and have ~50 pages that all need to be styled in the same way. Each page has roughly 6-7 blocks that need custom CSS (identical across those pages), and there will be more of these pages in the future. These block types are used in several other ways in those pages though, so they can't be edited on a block-type basis.

I'm curious if there are recommended best practices for how to handle this.

As far as I can tell, the first obvious option is putting the CSS in the Custom CSS Editor, which would centralize any future changes, but create a gigantic list of 300+ impossible-to-parse block ID references. The second option is to duplicate the CSS on each page in a Code Block, which creates isolated, clean code, but will require 50+ edits for any future changes.

The ideal would be some way to tag blocks for targeted CSS, so each block with common CSS has a shared ID of some sort, and then I just apply CSS to that ID in the CSS Editor. There doesn't seem to be an immediately obvious way to do that though.

Any suggestions for how to approach the above?

Thanks for your help!

Edited by DevDotEXE
  • Replies 2
  • Views 284
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

1 hour ago, DevDotEXE said:

I'm working on a website and have ~50 pages that all need to be styled in the same way. I'm curious if there are recommended best practices for how to handle this.

As far as I can tell, the first obvious option is putting the CSS in the Custom CSS Editor, which would centralize any future changes, but create a gigantic list of 300+ impossible-to-parse block ID references.