Temporarily disabling sales on my store

Site URL: https://www.hamiltonroberts.com/on-hand-gallery/

I will be out of town for a week and unable to take sales and ship. Is there a way to temporarily disable sales on my store?

Ideally I'd like visitors to see our work but not order.

Build a new page (explanation about the shop being off-line) and substitute it for the gallery but keeping the same URL?
Redirect  Product Page to explanation page? I'm a woodworker, not a web guy.

Squarespace 7.0 Montauk

Any suggestions appreciated!

Thanks.

SS does have a redirect function (URL Mapping) but that won't work in this case. It is meant to redirect pages that don't exist on your site to pages that do.

You could build an explanation page and then change the URL slugs so that the explanation page has the URL of your store. You'd then change the URL Slug for your store temporarily and also probably put it in the NOT LINKED section.

I think I like your idea of keeping everything where it is so that potential customers can at least see your offerings.

So the question is what can we do to keep folks from ordering while you're away and preserve as much as possible the selling aspect.

We could do something like the following.

842635663_ScreenShot2021-05-23at7_02_17PM.png.c7e1a752503a82ff558674f987d3de7c.png

The purchase button is disabled and kind of looks like it's disabled. Although an outsider wouldn't know what the regular button looks like. Then there is the explanation to elucidate what is going on.

If you want to give this a go add the following to Store Settings > Advanced > Page Header Code Injection for the store page.

<style>

.sqs-add-to-cart-button-wrapper {

pointer-events : none;

}

.sqs-add-to-cart-button {

opacity : 0.25;

}

.sqs-add-to-cart-button-wrapper::before {

content : '[enter explanation here between single quotes]';
    font-weight : bold;
    font-style : italic;
    display : block;
    margin-bottom : 1rem;

}

</style>