Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Advanced Search

Why Doesn't SS allow us delete/manage our own imported images?


Go to solution Solved by Parker_SQSP,

Recommended Posts

Hey! I'm working on a site and I played around the options (newest version of Squarespace) a lot. This uploaded the "dummy-images" on the site every time and now when browsing uploaded images it is hard to find the relevant pics.  How do I manage the images uploaded to the site? I'd really like to remove all of the unused images. 

Screenshot from the media browser below.

Screenshot 2020-11-11 at 10.32.10.png

Link to comment

Same here! Working on a client website and decided to try Squarespace versus my Wordpress resource. Uploaded a ton of FPOS and went to clean out the image library and learned that you can't delete imported images. WTF? Who in the world thought this was a good idea? HUGE FAIL! Without that function I will never use SquareSpace for another client website again. This client now has a TON of images that will never be used.

Link to comment

Definitely following this thread. I feel this is my biggest frustration with Squarespace. Especially seeing there is a lot of trial and error with image sizing so could result in multiple uploads. 

I've been looking to see if they have "vote this feature" in anywhere like other platforms do. Because I would press is a million times!

Link to comment
  • 4 weeks later...

Yes. This is super important. I just built a website for a client which I started by duplicating a site I did for another client. I ABSOLUTELY CANNOT hand it off with the first client's custom photography saved in the imported images.

So I have to build the whole site over from scratch???

OMG. Hours and hours of redundant work are ahead.

This is not ok.

#featurerequest

Link to comment
On 12/8/2020 at 1:01 PM, ExpansiveMedia said:

Yes. This is super important. I just built a website for a client which I started by duplicating a site I did for another client. I ABSOLUTELY CANNOT hand it off with the first client's custom photography saved in the imported images.

So I have to build the whole site over from scratch???

OMG. Hours and hours of redundant work are ahead.

This is not ok.

#featurerequest

Same thing with me building templates! I've started to play around.. and god I do not want the play around images in there! They'd think "geez, what is this"

I had contacted them before my comment and they said they get lots of requests but they're adding it to the list and passing it on. 

Makes you question how they've gone this long without that feature.. mind boggling!

Hopefully it's our Christmas treat!

Link to comment

Yep, have to agree with all of the statements above and am truly disappointed in SS for not having any way to manage images or an image library.  I just signed up for this service yesterday after messing around with SS a few days and am in the process of moving an old site on WP to this.  Now I am seriously considering cancelling this subscription and going back to WP.  

Link to comment

I'm hoping that more voices gets this fixed, sooner rather than later. I am mentoring an artist client through her SS website setup, the time and frustration involved in managing her galleries has become embarrassing. Everything else is pretty easy—not sure why such a basic feature of content management is not available.

Link to comment
  • 3 weeks later...

There have been several threads on this in this forum. SS currently does not support image management.

However if you stop using a particular image, as in no reference to it anywhere on your site it will eventually be deleted.

I suggest you search the forums for other threads on this topic.

Find my contributions useful? Please like, upvote, mark my answer as best , and see my profile. Thanks for your support!

Link to comment

I don't really see an advantage to having management. I have had it with a number of hosting sites, and some unfavorable things come along with that ability. Like files have to be smaller, can't add an image directly to your site  unless it is in your library  storage first, sorry you have run out of space, you have reached your maximum number of files, you must remove some before adding more or upgrade your plan. That sort of thing. Squarespace has their own compression and storage methods and when using  image search you are seeing a facsimile of an image on your site, not an actual file itself. You cannot delete what doesn't exist  and if you could, what if that image was posted on your site and you accidentally hit delete?  There are a lot of things to consider here. I don't use that search function, It can be helpful but I choose to use a very nice Sony free image management program that sorts, creates folders, has editing functions,  and allows me to easily upload to Squarespace.

Edited by derricksrandomviews
Link to comment
22 hours ago, creedon said:

There have been several threads on this in this forum. SS currently does not support image management.

However if you stop using a particular image, as in no reference to it anywhere on your site it will eventually be deleted.

I suggest you search the forums for other threads on this topic.

interesting, but in fact i deleted some pages which included "outdated" images for months, but still, these images are still at "imported" tab...

Link to comment
3 hours ago, xing said:

interesting, but in fact i deleted some pages which included "outdated" images for months, but still, these images are still at "imported" tab...

Eventually is the keyword. 😀 That is the theory anyway! No one but SS knows what formula they use to decide when to delete the images.

Find my contributions useful? Please like, upvote, mark my answer as best , and see my profile. Thanks for your support!

Link to comment
On 1/27/2021 at 9:35 PM, derricksrandomviews said:

I don't really see an advantage to having management. I have had it with a number of hosting sites, and some unfavorable things come along with that ability. Like files have to be smaller, can't add an image directly to your site  unless it is in your library  storage first, sorry you have run out of space, you have reached your maximum number of files, you must remove some before adding more or upgrade your plan. That sort of thing. Squarespace has their own compression and storage methods and when using  image search you are seeing a facsimile of an image on your site, not an actual file itself. You cannot delete what doesn't exist  and if you could, what if that image was posted on your site and you accidentally hit delete?  There are a lot of things to consider here. I don't use that search function, It can be helpful but I choose to use a very nice Sony free image management program that sorts, creates folders, has editing functions,  and allows me to easily upload to Squarespace.

No advantages of having control over our own files?

Files have to be smaller - uploading huge files equals longer loading times.
Storage problems - again slow loading time with huge files, or if you have many images good luck managing or finding them without a management system.
If someone accidentally hit delete and them accidentally hit confirm.... well that person is a moron.

All this is just an excuse for lazy coding, bad management. 

It's ridiculous not to be able to delete or at least organise imported files at all.

Link to comment

 

I think that the conception is that squarespace works like one big hard drive and stores images in a standard fashion like many website hosting companies or like you would for yourself on your own device. That is not the way it works. Let me paraphrase how they do it.

When you upload an image, Squarespace stores multiple sizes. Each size version is assigned a specific static URL so browsers can reload the images more quickly each time someone revisits a page. This helps your site’s performance globally, improves page loading times, and helps your ranking in Google, which uses page speed as a factor in search results. 

If you right-click an image or other file and open it in a new tab, you'll see its URL in your browser's address bar. These URLs start with images.squarespace-cdn.comstatic.squarespace.com, or static1.squarespace.com followed by a string of random characters and the format. For example, the 1000 pixels-wide version of your image will have format=1000w at the end. The format changes based on the size of the browser viewing your site. File URLs can't be customized. 

Edited by derricksrandomviews
Link to comment

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

×
×
  • Create New...