Square Space Virgin - Feedback on my first site, please :)

Site URL: http://www.maephotography.co.uk

I'd love your feedback on our first site - it's for our photography business.

Formerly on wordpress, so we've transferred the blog across, in soft-launch now for a week while we tweak.

Thank you in advance for taking the time to view and feedback - it's my first time with SS and I've really enjoyed it. So much so I'm building sites for clients now in one of my other businesses.

It reminded me of a Wordpress site. It's very heavy on text, and when viewing from a phone, you don't know that there is any information to scroll down to. The menu hambuger and book button take all the attention. I am not a big fan of action buttons high on the site when there is a lot of information to be seen below first. Its my experience that it may not turn viewers off but it doesn't turn them on either. Photography sites really need to remember that a picture really is worth a thousand words espcially when two of those words are book now. Think about a landing page, one or two really good images, not much text something with some really good impact that will grab the viewer, you have four seconds to do so and that is all so make those seconds good ones.  Here are two examples of this first impact concept:

https://christinegregoryphotography.com/

https://mattrobertsphotography.net/

An interesting point of view.

Though this is my first squarespace site, it's not my first rodeo building a site and getting it to the top of google. Of the two sites you mentioned, neither rank as a photograhper in their location in SERPS, Christine ranks under facebook if you type "Christine Gregory Photography".... indeed Matt Roberts isn't even found if you type "Matt Roberts Photography"..