New To Website Building. Need All The Help I can Get

Hello, 

I am new to squarespace & and the world of website building. For the last couple of months I have tried to build my own site with no real luck. It's clearly time to hire a professional. What does that really mean??? 

Within Web Development you have many different services  that are offered and at all different prices. How do you know you are not over paying? 

Also since I am not up on my Website terms or services. 

What is the difference between a advanced website design vs classic?

If I wanted to sell merchandise would that be advanced? or is that a totally different service after the website is created?

When the developer builds the site for you, would they connect it to social media? Or is that also an additional charge?

Thank you in advance for any and all help you can give me. I can clearly use guidance 

• 2 weeks later...
  • Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Big Picture: What are your goals for the website?

Do you want to write blog posts and share them with friends and family? This would call for a very simple website with a home page, maybe a few images, and a blog/news/updates section for your readers. Once this simple site is set up, all you do going forward is create new blog posts, maybe update your images every now and then.

Or do you want to sell products/ services? This is more advanced, as you need to set up and connect external services that will allow customers to input credit card, Paypal, or other payment information, include images for all products. I use Square and Stripe for payment processing and point of sale transactions.