Local Dev Server error: GET /local-assets/site.css -- 500

Hi there,

I'm a software engineer that is just messing around in Squarespace for the first time, and I just set up my local dev environment only to hit an error right away:

GET /local-assets/site.css -- 500

I looked around to see if anyone else was experiencing this... and it doesn't look like it. 
If I push my latest and check out the GUI editor, that seems to be working fine (updates are registering), but the local server is not building the site.css file... what gives? 

I noticed in the documentation there is some mention of the site.css file:

"According to our page on URL Queries, typically on a site you can append /site.css? and see all of the CSS. This doesn’t work with the Local Development Server."

Then, immediately after that:

"This will only work when using the Local Development Server. Otherwise, please use what is stated on our URL Queries page."

So even though that is a little confusing verbiage, I am assuming that this line: 

"https://localhost:9000/local-assets/site.css"  

only works for local dev.

Next, I checked that address to see what would happen and I got this:

Line Statement ------------------------ site.css:794
.newsletter-block { site.css:1207 .mixin-programmatically-focusable-form-elements();
ExecuteError MIXIN_UNDEFINED: Failed to locate a mixin using selector .mixin-programmatically-focusable-form-elements

Mind you, I haven't added any css yet. So, I assume that the blank dev template has some issues within the LESS that need to be sorted out... but I don't have access to those files to troubleshoot.

So, now I'm thinking either:
A) The local dev server is having trouble pulling the correct files.
B) The files being pulled are corrupted.

My gut is telling me to start over with a blank template... but I don't want to get into the habit of doing that with future builds. Does anyone have experience with this?

• Replies 4
  • Created
  • Last Reply