FTP

• Replies 12
  • Views 2.6k
  • Created
  • Last Reply
19 hours ago, JennyPig said:

Hello, my marketing person is asking for my FTP info.

16 hours ago, tuanphan said:

You need to enable Developer Mode to get this. (read carefully the guide)

I echo Tuan's comments about reading the guide carefully before enabling Developer Mode. Unless you are a Software Developer who needs this level of access, I strongly advise against enabling it. I say this as a Developer myself. 

I don't want to concern you unnecessarily, but now that you've turned on Developer Mode, your site's template will no longer receive updates from Squarespace. 

If you haven't already done so, I recommend you ask your marketing person why they want FTP access to a Squarespace site. It's a very unusual request and unlikely to be necessary.

About me: I've been a SQSP User for 18 yrs. I was invited to join the Circle when it launched in 2016. I have been a Circle Leader since 2017. I don't work for Squarespace. I value honesty, transparency, diversity and good design ♥.
Work: I founded and run SF.DIGITAL, building Squarespace Extensions to supercharge your commerce website. 
Content: Views and opinions are my own. Links in my posts may refer to SF.DIGITAL products or may be affiliate links.
Forum advice is free. You can thank me by clicking one of the feedback emojis below. Coffee is optional.

• 4 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...
51 minutes ago, AirionJ said:

Is there no way to disable developer mode after you've turned it on?

Yes. You can toggle it off, but there are consequences if you’ve made changes to the site whilst it was on. 

About me: I've been a SQSP User for 18 yrs. I was invited to join the Circle when it launched in 2016. I have been a Circle Leader since 2017. I don't work for Squarespace. I value honesty, transparency, diversity and good design ♥.
Work: I founded and run SF.DIGITAL, building Squarespace Extensions to supercharge your commerce website.