My site has dissappeared from google search, used to rank no. 1

Site URL: https://www.stevemarais.com

Hello smart people of Squarespace :)

I'm a photographer, I have a simple website that I love. However, I recently did a google search on my name and was horrified to discover that my site is nowhere to be seen. 

https://www.stevemarais.com

I followed the Squarespace SEO guides and made a few tweaks as best I could without compromising the simplicity of my site, but so far nothing has changed. 

Thing is, I used to rank no.1 for many years. I'm baffled. 

I'd hate to move back to a wordpress based site (it would probably be simple enough to recreate) because I love the simplicity and functionality of Squarespace, but if my site is unsearchable I might be left with no choice. 

Any help, advice or guidance will be absolutely appreciated! What can I do?

Many thanks!

Merci!!!

Steve

• Replies 4
  • Views 1.4k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello! Not sure if I'm among the "smart people" but I'll chime in since I primarily do SEO work for photographers on Squarespace. 🙂

I did a scan for "Steve Marais" and "Steve Marais photographer" on Google US, Google Germany, a localized search from Berlin, and Switzerland and indeed I am not seeing it anywhere other than "Steve Marais photographer" on page 3 for the Berlin localized search. A Google search for your domain name does put you at #1 which  at least means we have something to work with.

I do enough SEO on Squarespace to know that sites can rank as long as you have enough content. Your site does have a beautiful simplicity — that unfortunately makes SEO harder. If only Google could translate art into text for us!

These would be my suggestions: