Is Squarespace always so limiting?

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie to Squarespace having used Wix for years and Flash before that. I love Squarespace's simplicity and clean-ness, however I find it just too damn rigid to work with. I'm currently running the trial version, but would I see more design options if I subscribed to the full version?

By rigid I mean...

I can't add hover over text to my image gallery? I can't move elements on my page without digging for CSS? I can't even have my gallery images link to another page on my website?

Wix is buggy and hard to get looking nice but at least using it feels intuitive for a designer. I'd love to get into Squarespace but finding there are too many walls to climb

M

• Replies 17
  • Views 2.8k
  • Created
  • Last Reply
2 minutes ago, derricksrandomviews said:

All the things you mention are standard based on certain templates and or which platform 7.0 or 7.1 and the trial version actually lets you do everything including commerce options. Which template are you trying out?

Template is Gates. I'm guessing 7.1 seeing as I only signed up a week or so ago.

7.1 in my opinion is designed more for first time builders, and for ones who are more mobile driven. As a wix user I think you would find 7.0 more to your liking. 

take a look at these templates. And you can type in Brine at the top, and look at that family of 40 templates. All very good. You can even start a second trial if you wish and work with the template you have now and a 7.0 one and decide what you like best. I have sites built on Wexley, Brine, and Avenue, all 7.0 sites. https://www.squarespace.com/templates?onboarding_v7_1_0819=control

my random views derrick Lee parker

Christine Gregory Photography

https://atlanticcoastwater.com/

Deer Creek Motorcoach Resort Virginia Make Yourself at Home in the Blue Ridge Mountains

Wix is more advanced in customisation but in term of speed, Squarespace is better

BeyondSpace - Squarespace Website Developer