Sidebar navigation in 7.1

• 2 months later...

There is a tutorial here. However there are still other things need fixing / more tutorials needed ~

1. Element & typographic spacing ~ if you follow the above tutorial, all spacing will be jampacked next to each other, and that nav links may appear squashed to left or right (depending on the overall Header Style you picked). The tutorial above didn't cover this issue, but so far the only way to make this work is to add more margin and position css overrides on the "header a" and  "header-nav-wrapper" as follows: 
    header a {
      margin: 5px;
    }

.header-nav-wrapper {
        position: relative;
        left: 20px;
      }
    I'm no coder nor developer so please do not hold me accountable if anything breaks at your end. 

2. Announcement bars will ALSO be rotated to the left. So far I have not been able to find a way to bypass this effect on announcement bar. 
  3. Following from announcement bar problem - once you clicked exit "X" it out ~ the entire nav suddenly shifts to the right. So far again, still troubleshooting my way through this. 

If anyone else can contribute to this thread, will help a lot. Since 7.1 gets RID of Well's beautiful sticky left nav style, we need to raise enough voice for side bar based navigation! 

On 6/16/2020 at 4:25 PM, AW85 said:

There is a tutorial here. However there are still other things need fixing / more tutorials needed ~

1. Element & typographic spacing ~ if you follow the above tutorial, all spacing will be jampacked next to each other, and that nav links may appear squashed to left or right (depending on the overall Header Style you picked). The tutorial above didn't cover this issue, but so far the only way to make this work is to add more margin and position css overrides on the "header a" and  "header-nav-wrapper" as follows: 

header a {
      margin: 5px;
    }

.header-nav-wrapper {
        position: relative;
        left: 20px;
      }