Changing Checkout Form Page to Dutch

Site URL: https://www.saintmichel.nl/webshop

Hey,

I see that this question is asked before but I didn't see any solution yet. How do I customise the checkout form inserts to Dutch? I know that the solution won't be easy but can somebody explain how I can change it in developer mode or anything? I am not shy to go into developer mode although I am not an expert. I do really want my checkout form to be in Dutch - it's not legally to sell anything otherwise and I would have to leave Squarespace.

Thanks

• Replies 5
  • Views 1.5k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Update: Dutch (and Swedish) are now supported on Squarespace 7.1. If you want a site in one of these languages, you can now do this on any of the newer templates. These are in addition to the existing languages of English, French,  German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish - but only one per site.

If you want a multi-language site, there is only one reliable way to do this currently, and that's to use DNS to redirect users through a translation server called Weglot. It's a third-party service that you pay for to translate your site in real time. You can get a free trial to try it on your website.

Why aren't there code solutions? You cannot add code to a Squarespace site to make changes to the checkout page, regardless of whether you inject a script or use Developer Mode, because they lock this page to prevent tampering with online payments. 

Here's an example of a Squarespace checkout on an English site, being translated by Weglot:

weglot-translated-uk-site-squarespace-checkout.thumb.png.3d3571d93764589f414caf2eb5d62143.png

About me: I've been a SQSP User for 18 yrs. I was invited to join the Circle when it launched in 2016. I have been a Circle Leader since 2017. I don't work for Squarespace. I value honesty, transparency, diversity and good design ♥.
Work: I founded and run SF.DIGITAL, building Squarespace Extensions to supercharge your commerce website.