Why isn't my personal website showing up when I search my (unique) name on Google, but it does for Bing?

Hi! Sorry, I apologize if I'm posting in the wrong place.

I have no knowledge or expertise in SEO – I recently created a Squarespace website for my small (one-person) side business, as a non-profit freelancer. I have done everything Squarespace recommends to improve SEO and my website still isn't showing at all when you google my name.

I have a pretty unique name. When you google my name, the first page of search results are all related to me. Some of these results are more than 5 years old -- old articles written in my university paper, etc. I thought that getting on the first page of google for my name would be as simple as creating the website, since it would be the most recent entry related to my name. I am learning the hard way that that’s not the case! The funny thing is, I followed all of Squarespace’s advice for both Google and Bing – but it only worked on Bing. On Bing, my personal website is the number 1 search result for my name but on Google my webpage does not appear at all.

A lot of the advice I’m seeing online is to post a lot of content, but I get enough business through word of mouth. This website is more for image-management – I would rather that if someone google my name, the first thing that pops up isn’t an awkward news interview I did when I was 17! The template I am using does not lend itself well to frequent updates or additional blog entries, it’s just a coverpage and a contact form: https://carroll-demo.squarespace.com/

Is there any quick way to get my personal webpage as the top search result for my name on Google? It was so easy on Bing, I am finding Google is a whole different situation. I would be so grateful for any advice you have or resources you can direct me to.

A few questions / points:

• Are you using the Squarespace provided subdomain rather than your own domain name? This could have a negative SEO impact