Wells: Is there a way to replace "Prev / Next" with "Newer / Older" on the Blog Page?

I'm using the Wells template and I seem to be stuck with "Prev / Next," both at the bottom of a blog page with multiple posts and at the bottom of any single blog post. I want to change this to "Newer / Older" because only those terms are unambiguous in the context of a page employing reverse chronology, like a blog.

While the use of "previous / next" (and the similar "back / forward") is common on the web, it is unclear whether the terms are meant to apply to recency of posting or sequence of posts, and different users interpret this differently. I'd like to stay away from this kind of poor ergonomics on my site.

Note that I have no experience with coding and have selected Squarespace for the ease of working with the great templates and simple interface. Easy instructions, please!

Here's a link to one of my blog posts in Wells featuring the unwanted "Prev / Next".

And here's a link to a blog page in Flatiron that deploys "Newer / Older" instead.

I am a linguist, strategic namer, categorist and photographer. I am thrilled to be building my own website thanks to Squarespace. (I am also routinely bewildered as to how to proceed, simple interface and brilliant template-based system notwithstanding...)

• Replies 8
  • Views 10.9k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Anyone? It's my first time posting here, and I'm pretty sure this is a valid question. I tried using a ticket, but Squarespace said it's beyond the scope of what they help with. I appreciate any assistance.

I am a linguist, strategic namer, categorist and photographer. I am thrilled to be building my own website thanks to Squarespace. (I am also routinely bewildered as to how to proceed, simple interface and brilliant template-based system notwithstanding...)